St. Martin beachfront vacation rental in Grand Case: The Doves Nest
St. Martin and St. Maarten villa and condo rentalsVilla Rate Sheet St-Martin-Vacation
Villa and condo rentals by agents and property managers Sint Maarten and Saint MartinRate Sheet for all condos on St-Martin-Vacation
View our range of villas on St. Maritn and St. Maartin for rent directly from ownersSpecial offers, discounts, packages, stay 7 pay 6 and more discounted rates at St-Martin-Vacation.com
View our full range of condos, apartments, studios, suites, bungalows and cottages on St. Maarten and St. MartinHOME PAGE

Guest Reviews, Traveler Comments of The Doves Nest in Grand Case
What Guests have to say about The Doves Nest

Views from the balconies of the one bedroom units at The Doves Nest
GUEST BOOK

The Doves Nest
Petite Plage
Grand Case
Saint Martin

8 Seaside Apartments:
5 one-bedroom units
3 two-bedroom units
ALL UNITS WITH OCEAN VIEW

View main page of
The Doves Nest

Reservations for the Doves Nest

RATES
16 April - 30 June:
1 July - 30 Nov:
1 Dec - 15 April:

Depending on unit:
$1,000 - 1,400 /wk
$900 - 1,200 /wk
$1,200 - 1,650 /wk
WHAT GUESTS HAVE TO SAY A BOUT THE DOVES NEST
We would love to see your review added. Please, share your experience with other travelers!

What a great place!
Rating: Excellent pointspointspointspointspoints - Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Guests from Burlington, Canada
Date of stay: March 2015, Reviewed 30 March 2015

My wife and I and our friend just spent 7 days at the Dove's Nest. And we have all agreed we would go back any time. We rented a 2 bedroom unit that provided more then enough room for us.
The view from the balcony was amazing. A different view every day with boats/ships coming and going.
The owners Suzy and Emile are great hosts. Need something, just ask. Need info about the island, just ask. Daphnie is a very outgoing person who looks after the rooms, always smiling and laughing. The location is a short walk to all the amazing restaurants in town and some shopping. Just be sure to bring water shoes for going in the ocean. Thanks again Suzy and Emile for hosting us.

The "Friendly" in "The Friendly Island"!
Rating: Excellent -- Good : pointspointspointspoints- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Guests from London, Canada
Date of stay: January 2015, Reviewed 8 February 2015

My husband and I, along with friends of ours, recently stayed at Dove's Nest for a couple nights. The units are private apartments with full kitchens and balconies. Ours faced the ocean offering a very beautiful view.
T he owners, Suzy and Emile, are a wonderful, long-time St. Martin couple who go far out of their way to welcome and cater to every guest. It is as if you are a personal guest in their home!
All units are fully equipped, self-sufficient apartments. The decor is a little dated but the rooms are clean and stocked with everything you need, including beach towels. Emile even brought a case of beer and some wine to us at check-in!
If you are very lucky, you will be there on one of the evenings they provide a family-style dinner for all the guests. Our meal included fish that Emile caught, grilled lobsters, steak, ribs, salads and vegetables. They also provided a stocked bar! There was no charge for any of this, with most guests bringing a bottle of wine.
It was quite a special event, unlike anything we had encountered anywhere else on the island. Without any hesitation, we hope to return again next year!

Best way to spend a vacation at St Martin
Rating: Excellent pointspointspointspointspoints - Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Peter from Sweden
Date of stay: December 2014, Reviewed 21 February 2015

We were a large family of three generations, renting unit number 1,4,5,6 and 7 for 2 weeks. We had a wonderful time in the very large units of Dove´s Nest! It's clean, the view is breathtaking and everything promised at the website description is true! Thank You Susy and Emile for your concern and service! We felt like family and loved the perfect barbecue, your nice family members and friends. We will be back!!


Still amazing
Rating: Excellent pointspointspointspointspoints - Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Mike from Cleveland
Date of stay: December 2014, Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed at the Dove's Nest many years ago and recently returned. The Dove's nest remains an amazing place to stay in St. Martin. The location is excellent. Walking distance to Grand Case and the many great restaurants.
A very quick drive to a nice, newer shopping area (Hope Estate) where you will find a large grocery store, excellent wine shop, dive shop, gourmet cafe/shop and many other shops. It's a 5-10 minute drive to Orient Bay, 5- 10 minute drive to Friars Bay, 10-15 minute drive to Anse Marcel, 15 minute drive to the airport and Maho, and also about 15-20 minutes to Philipsburg.
It's just a short walk down the hill to the petite plage beache which is very beautiful and swim able (but a little rough on some days). The rooms all nice and very large. It's great to have a kitchen. After a long day at the beach, some nights are best spent in the room. The view from balcony is amazing (we stayed in room 6 and our friends were in 5 next door). You will find almost anything you need in your room (or Suzy will promptly bring it over with a smile) plates, silverware, bug spray, books, tv, wifi, Beach towels, and even a great insulated bag to take to the beach. This is basically a small apartment building, so the amenities will be somewhat different than a large resort.
There is no swimming pool, but the ocean is just steps away and the view from each room is amazing. There is free wifi which was in and out, but that's probably true for many places on the island I think. Suzy has many things to borrow for the beach, such as snorkel gear etc.
The Dove's nest is protected by a solid gate, not that we felt unsafe. The dinner Suzy and Emile hold during your stay is not to be missed. The food is great and the company is even better!
ICE --- This is not to be underestimated. Suzy and Emile own a veritable ice factory, literally, they make ice for much of the island. It's amazing to be able to grab a bag of ice before you head of to the beach. This seemingly little convenience was a huge plus that we took advantage of daily. Suzy and Emile are really great people and wonderful hosts. Always accommodating and very very knowledgeable. The Dove's Nest is an amazing place to stay with truly world class views and hosts. If you like to explore the island, cook your own meals occasionally and don't need a swimming pool, The Dove's Nest is the way to go!

Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review June 15, 2014:
VIEW WAS AMAZING !!! - Guests from Barbados

My friend and I had never been to St Martin and somebody told us about The Dove's Nest apartments situated very close to Grand Case on the French side of the Island. We could not have been happier if we had been staying in a 5 star hotel. The description of the property was exactly as advertised. Emile and Suzy, the owners, are the most wonderful people I have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The view from the Balcony is amazing and there is everything that you could want in the apartment. There is a beach which is a 3 minute walk away which is also used by guests at Grand Case Beach Club with a lovely Restaurant, Sunset Cafe, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The main town of Grand Case is approximately a 10 minute walk away. This is the link to the website http://st-martin-vacation.com/condos-apartments/Apt-DovesNest.html

Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from February 1, 2014:
A GREAT EXPERIENCE - Doug P. from Bixby, Oklahoma

A wonderful place to stay! Emile and Suzy are gracious hosts, and were able to help with anything we needed. We felt more like family than customers.The room was very spacious, clean and well kept. The view from our balcony was great. The website is very detailed and meticulous in describing the accommodations, and everything was just as listed. We will definitely return.

Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from January 31, 2014:
GREAT VIEW, GREAT HOSTS, GREAT LOCATION - Guests from Waterloo, Canada

Suzy and Emile run a great place and we've just returned from our 6th or 7th trip. We find this place has it all for us - right mix of pricing, accommodations, local spirit, and of course, the location/view which alone is worth it. 

The weekly BBQ is a lot of fun and interestingly will save you a night of dining - they have everything from lobster and mahi-mahi, to goat and chicken, with salads and starters. Finish it off with any beer/wine/rum you'd like and it's never dull. 

Thanks again for a great time guys, see you again next year.

Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from March 13, 2013:
WONDERFUL STAY AT THE DOVES NEST - Guests from New York City

We stayed at the Dove’s Nest from January 13–27, 2013. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to others because of the following reasons.

Location: The Dove’s Nest is within walking distance (15 minutes) of “downtown” Grand Case. A morning stroll to the boulangerie for croissants and a baguette and an evening walk for dinner are easy to do. Limited shopping (convenience store variety) is also within walking distance. The Dove’s Nest is located on the Petite Plage – the same beach used by the Grand Case Beach Club. Bring your snorkel and water shoes (some rocks) as there is decent snorkeling. The property is accessed by the beach or a by a road with a key pad entry gate. It is very private as it is just about the last construction on the northern edge of the shore line. 

Hospitality: The Larmonys are marvelous hosts. They make one feel welcome and show their guests a side of St. Martin life one would miss at other places. On Wednesday nights, they have a dinner (BBQ, BYOB) that was terrific. We met numerous members of the Larmony clan during our two week stay and greatly enjoyed their warm and gracious hospitality. 

Value: Staying at the Dove’s Nest is a great value. The accommodations are very competitively priced and, given the great location, a real value. In addition, the ability to have meals on-site was a cost saver. We ate breakfast at the Dove’s Nest and also cooked a few dinners (fresh fish from the Marigot market). We greatly enjoyed watching the sunset from our ocean view terrace with pate, cheese and wine from France, courtesy of the Simply market about a 5 minute drive away. 

Be advised – this is not a property with high end amenities. No swimming pool, no spa, no scheduled activities. It might not be for everyone, but it certainly was a good choice for us. Thanks Emile and Suzy for a fantastic stay at the Dove’s Nest in beautiful St. Martin.


Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Feb. 7, 2013:
A MILLION DOLLAR VIEW! - Guests from Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, US

We just returned after a week at the Dove's Nest and could not have had a better time. Although the accommodations are not plush, they are more than adequate and we had everything we needed and then some. Emile and Suzy are wonderful hosts and were always very responsive to our requests and questions. The barbeque is not to be missed!

We stayed in Unit #3 on the top floor and had a magnificant view. It was wonderful each morning to enjoy coffee followed by breakfast and Mimosas on the balcony. The private beach is great too. You'll have your own coolers and ample ice available to take some cold drinks down to the beach. We even took lunch down there one day. The beach is rocky, so bring along your water shoes. The water is calm and warm and there is usually a breeze which keeps it from feeling too hot. If you want to snorkel, just ask Suzy for the equipment.

It was an short walk into Grand Case for dining. We ate at La Villa, Spiga, Piazza Piscal, and the Talk of the Town. Each was excellent in its own way. (Tip: you'll be asked if you want Flat or Sparkling water. There is a cost of about $6 or so for a bottle. Just ask for table water, which is free). Each of these places is 1 Euro to 1 dollar. With an exchange rate of 1:1.3, it makes it a good deal.

For groceries, Simply Markets is close; however, with the exchange rate added to the groceries it increases the already high cost. Head over to the Dutch side just past Marigot to Grand Marche supermarkets. It's down the road just passed the casino and sits behind the bank on the right side. They have a great wine selection and much more reasonable prices on groceries.

Be sure to visit different beaches. You'll get passes for the ferry to Pinel Island. Get there before noon to get a good selection of chairs. They are $20 for 2 chairs and an umbrella. If you want a chair that lays flat, go over to Karabuni. Also, enjoy a good meal of Karabuni restaurant. Be sure to make reservations.

At Orient Beach, 2 chairs and an umbrella are free at Palm Beach if you have lunch there. If you walk south just before the nudest area, you'll find several shops and restaurants that offer lower rates for chairs and umbrellas. You can also get a bucket of 6 beers for $10. It is more crowded there though.

We would definitely recommmend a trip to St. Martin with a stay at the Dove's Nest. It was truly a memorable vacation!

The view from the top floor is amazing!

An outstanding place to stay, a great value
Rating: Excellent pointspointspointspointspoints - Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Tom & Ali from USA
Date of stay: December 23-30, 2012

We stayed in Unit 1 (formerly Unit 3). We were extremely pleased with all of the features at the Dove's Nest. Everything was exactly as listed on the web site. There were no hidden extras! We were 1st time visitors to St Martin. The apartment was clean and well stocked with necessary items to use during our stay. We had beach towels provided at no charge. Ice was available for free with coolers to take to the beach daily.
Emile and Suzy are great hosts and address whims and needs almost immediately. They are great people!
We were thrilled with the fabulous meal which was prepared for us and the other guests one night during our stay by Emile and Suzy & family. Grilled Lobster, Steak, Ham, Ribs, vegetables and for dessert a huge pineapple upside down cake and beverages.
We will definitely return to the Dove Nest Apartments on a return visit. The overall condition of the property was at least 98% . Beautifully kept and maintained. A secure gated Villa!
Tom & Ali

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from April 2, 2012:
FRIENDLY FOLKS - EXCELLENT VALUE! - Guests from Toronto, Canda

We had a wonderful stay at Dove’s Nest. As others note, Suzy and Emile are friendly and hospitable & make you feel part of the family. Their weekly bbq for guests is a lot of fun. We were in unit 2, which has a spectacular view over the town and the bay – a great place to sit and watch sunsets.
This 2-bedroom unit was clean, spacious and well-appointed. We used only one of the 2 bedrooms and found the bed comfortable. This unit has a/c in the bedrooms, but we didn’t find we needed it most of the time & just slept with the windows open. During the day there was usually a breeze that flowed through the unit, which has windows on both the east and west sides. The kitchen was well-stocked and had some nice touches, like a stovetop espresso maker and a water cooler. The bathrooms were clean. Very occasionally we found the water pressure in the shower low. Daphne, the friendly cleaner, comes through three times a week.
Doves nest is about 10-15 min. walk from town and we made the return trip two or three times most days. (This may have helped minimize our weight-gain from the morning pastries and the meals at the town’s amazing eateries.) On the way down, the first 100 m. of road are behind a security gate; so we felt safe even though parts of this section are dark. After the security gate, the road borders the Grand Case Beach Club, which has a 24-hour security patrol, so we felt safe on this section too. The short distance from town means that Dove’s Nest is quiet, except for the sound of the waves. There is no noise from other units. Our only issue was that the free wi-fi signal in this unit was weak and erratic. Most days we managed OK, but once or twice we took the laptop to one of the local eateries (most have free wi-fi) to do some internet-instensive work. (I know --- it’s supposed to be a holiday…)
Overall, we thought Dove’s Nest was excellent value and we will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Feb. 2, 2012:
Guests from Stamford, CT

We were delighted with everything at Dove's Nest. We didn't have any of the issues that one of the other reviewers found re cleanliness - if there was an issue, it was fixed as soon as we mentioned it to the owners, Suzy and Emile. The apartment was perfect, furniture fine, kitchen facilities, bedding and linens and fluffy towels all good. (Also there was a/c in the living room/kitchen, not just the bedroom, but we didn't need it - fans were enough). And one tiny thing that I especially loved - enough hangars and hooks for all my stuff!
The Larmonies and their kids were wonderful hosts. The BBQ night was marvelous - getting to know some of our neighbors made it much more like home than a hotel. My morning walks into town to get croissants were just what I needed for some exercise - I found a "circle" that took me 45 minutes, through town, up to the main road and then around and back down the main tourist street. Definitely preferred the patisserie in town, rather than the one on the main road. If you insist on driving into town each time, parking and the very narrow roads could be a a bit hair-raising, but walking worked fine. .... Hard to believe that one reviewer actually drove down the tiny hill to get to the beach on the property - it is a 2 minute walk. Bring water shoes though - it's a rocky beach right there, but the water is wonderful. About the only issue I had was poor wifi reception from our unit (#7), but one of the girls taught me where to stand to get enough to get my email.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Aug. 12, 2011:
Guests from New York

Doves Nest is owned by a lovely couple who also live on the premises. There are several apartments for rent but we chose the one bedroom on the second floor. Bed was very comfortable and lovely living room with big TV and all new appliances in Kitchen. Only the bedroom is air conditioned so it can get quite warm in the living area even when we had the door open. Large deck that you share with room next to you but if you are at the end you have privacy.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from March 3, 2011:

My husband & I spent 5 wonderful days In St Martin & were so thrilled to have found the Dove's Nest for our accommodations! Suzy &Emile were wonderful hosts; we enjoyed the Wednesday night barbecue they graciously provided for all of their guests. The area was beautiful; it was so great to be able to snorkel right outside your door. The villa was very comfortable & it was nice to prepare some of our meals in the fully stocked kitchen. We loved watching the sunsets from the wonderful balacony! It was so great to have fabulous restaurants within walking distance also. We are still talking about our trip to St Martin & we highly reccommend the Doves Nest for a fun & relaxing holiday.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Feb 8, 2011:
Guests from Kimberling City, MO

Emile and Suzy have spacious apts and balconies with the sunset view of Grand Case Bay. It's away from the busy restaurant noise of Grand Case, but walkable in a few minutes. Close enough to walk to the Tues night Harmony Night, apt is located right by the beach, and the free dinner served guests during the week in the special outdoor BBQ area is fun and full of so many delicious items! Full kitchen, free wifi, cable TV, beach chairs, kayak and a great price! They suggest Don for car rental-great value and right at your door delivery.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Jan. 23, 2011:
Guests from North Bay, Canada

We decided to spend a week in the Caribbean with another family for the holidays. We didn’t want to spend a week in a resort with thousands of our closest friends. We had been in St-Martin before and loved the island. We set out to find a condo that could host our two families (two couples with kids 13, 14, 16, and 19) within walking distance to the beach and local restaurants. We found the Doves’ Nest and Suzy and Emille.
What a great place to stay in St-Martin. The units (we had # 2 for the kids and # 5 for the adults) were perfect and in a gated community. They were clean, confortable and were an excellent value. The view from #5 over Grand Case was just amazing. The kids and adults had fun snorkeling right from the beach at the Dove. Hang right and you quickly enter a marine sanctuary with a variety of fish, shellfish and starfish. We got rental cars from Don (a recommendation we got from Suzy) and were able to travel all around the island comfortably and economically.
Suzy and Emille were wonderful hosts. They invited us to spend Christmas Dinner with their family and cooked for us one more time during our 8-day stay (ribs and lobster - amazing). Grand Case itself is a small village renown for its restaurants. It was fun exploring a different one every night. The Lolos were great for lunch. A quick 3 min drive to the village bakery in the morning for French baguettes and chocolate croissants was all we needed for breakfast.
The Dove’s Nest is the place to stay in Grand Case. Give my regards to Susy and Emille when you visit. Francois.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Nov. 30, 2010:
Guests from Tampa, Florida

What a fantastic place!
Great location....Great views.. Great rooms... Wonderful owners... Pleasant staff. If you like value.. you'll LOVE the Dove's Nest.
Located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in St. Martin the Dove's Nest offers a great combination of large room size and reasonable rates with wonderful views. The rooms are more like private condos than hotel rooms.

The owners Suzy and Emile are wonderful people, that made us feel like family, and gave us great information about the island, places to go and things to do...

We stayed in Room 6. It's a large apartment with a full kitchen, separate bedroom and great views. The private beach is short walk, and is adjacent to the Grand Case Beach Club.
The Dove's Nest is located on a private road, with security gate access.. Parking is free.

If you're a self-sufficient traveler looking for a great place to stay in St. Martin this is it! Here's their website: http://www.st-martin-vacation.com/condos-apartments/Apt-DovesNest.html

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from March 18, 2010:
Guests from London, UK

Roomy & pleasant apartment with balcony. Less than 10 minutes walk from the main drag of restaurants in Grand Case. Just yards from the petit plage beach which is really nice and quiet. Suzi, the host, was really kind and helpful. I left behind some clothes in the closet and she took them to the port and put them on a boat for me to collect at our next destination!

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from February 4, 2010:
Guests from Cleveland

The Dove's Nest is a hidden gem. The perfect balance of luxury and affordability just a 5 minute walk from the heart of Grand Case. The owners, Emile & Suzy, were extremely gracious and welcoming throughout the 12 days we spent in their condo.

Dove's Nest is located on Petite Plage Beach, right next to Grand Case Beach Club and a stone's throw from the nightlife and fine restaurants of Grand Case. It is a small condo complex of about 6 one and two bedroom units in one building. Emile & Suzy live in one of the units and rent the rest out to those who are lucky enough to discover them. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was previously rented by a long term renter. It was a spacious unit with a large living room / kitchen area, a large bedroom, one bathroom, and a balcony with a beautiful view.

Like I mentioned, Suzy & Emile were both wonderful throughout our stay. One evening they invited all their guests to join them for a wonderful meal that included fresh lobster, mahi mahi Emile had caught the day before, ribs, chicken, too many side dishes to count, wine, beer, homemade liquors, and even dessert. It was fun to spend an evening with them and their family and enjoy the wonderful food. They also provided us with free ferry passes to Pinel Island, beach umbrellas, beach chairs, a baby crib & highchair, toys, a kayak, and lots of other great service that you don't find at a resort. They have a very friendly woman and helper that come 3 times a week to clean the condo and they also have a washer & dryer if you need to do a quick load. Linens, including beach towels, are included with the condo, a very nice plus that saves room in the suitcase.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from January 27, 2010:
Guests from Toronto, Canada

Just what we were looking for. We are not keen on large resorts, crowded beaches and being surrounded by hordes of tourists and prefer being somewhat off the beaten path. That's not always easy, especially if you only have a week or so for a holiday. Grand Case is a fun little town and the whole island is easy to get around to find a different amazing beach every day. The location of the Dove's nest is perfect - at the end of the street - no noise but only a short walk to all the restaurants. It's less than a minute down the driveway to Petite Plage which is a lovely quiet beach. Other than a few local houses, the neighbours are 2 expensive rental houses hidden behind the trees. Added bonus is that these houses put a gate up so Dove's Nest is in a very secure area.

Our unit was a 1 bedroom, close to 1000 sqf, with a private terrace and a fully equipped kitchen. It's not a 5 star furniture wise, but it's all solid and comfortable. There is a big modern grocery store a 3 minute drive away. It's more expensive than shopping on the Dutch side, but very practical.......

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from January 16, 2010:
Guests from Boston

Our stay at "Dove's Nest" was a perfect ending of our vacation on St.Martin. The owners Emile and Suzy were extremely helpful and flexible with all our requests. The guest house itself is a "beauty" located at the very end of the Grand Case village in a secluded quiet area with a lovely sandy beach and clear waters. A definite 5-star vacation place.


From: Lienne Plantz
Sent: January 04, 2010 5:24 AM
Subject: addition to "doves nest guestbook"

Hello everyone,
If you're looking for a stay on this lovely island, the " Doves Nest" is the place to be. We spent last summer here with our family and rented 3 apartments. Every single one of them was great. Lots of space, fully equipped kitchen, great views and excellent service. A small walk down the hill will get you to a beautiful private beach where you can swim, snorkle, fish or just relax on one of the beachchairs which are provided by the doves nest. A free trip to the little island of Pinel is also included. The location is perfect. It's just a short stroll to the centre of Grand Case Village with a lot of small shops and various restaurants. And if you're looking for some exercise: just take a walk down the long and beautiful beach in the morning and pick up a "baguette" at one of the small grocery-stores on your way back. What a way to start the day!

But what moved us most of all was the hospitality of Suzy and Emile. The way we were treated ( as if we were family) was heartwarming and made us feel right at home. We've met a lot of their family and friends at the weekly BBQ they host. And it's not just a simple BBQ but one with freshly caught fish, lobster and homemade pies for desert. Yum....

It was the 5th summer we've spent in Grand case, but this was our first stay at the Doves nest. And it will most certainly not be our last because we are already planning our stay at Suzy and Emile's for next summer. See you in July!

Greetings from the " Plantz family " ( The Netherlands )


Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Dec, 28, 2009:
Guests from Chicago, Illinois

While doing research for a place to stay, we were having a bit of trouble finding what we wanted, we specifically wanted to stay in Grand Case, as close to the sea as possible with a reasonable price; little did we know before we left that we hit the jackpot! The Dove's Nest (TDN) was easy to find once we got to the Grand Case area and were given instructions by our host Suzy, for getting onto the property through the security gate. It was if we arrived at a friend's house for a stay; simple building with beautiful landscaping (and useful, as would later learn) and parking. Our place was on the 2nd floor, although it seemed higher up; 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen, bath and large balcony with a great view. Each bedroom had one bed, a queen and a king and plenty of closet space. There was also a safe in the king bedroom. The TV had numerous channels, if needed, and the living room had a large couch and love seat, there is also a cd player. Leave your adapters at home (US), they have that taken care of. We spent most of our time on the balcony, when we were in the room. The kitchen has everything you need should you decide to cook any meals, we chose to do breakfast in the room to start our day. Make sure you get fresh croissants!!! There is a path down to the beach and there are chaise lounges for your use (don't forget your packable cooler). You can also use their loungers (for a cost--remember to bargain). TDN is walking distance to many restaurants in Grand Case and the local (lo-lo's). The baby back ribs were the best at the lo-lo's! This property works best for the independent traveller, as it does not have any amenities you would find at a resort.

One evening, Emile & Suzy treated us to a homecooked meal and lobster grill on the property, along with their famous tea punch! The entire Larmony family lives on the land, I believe there are six houses on the property. Emile and Suzy and the entire family were wonderful and we will definitely be going back. Oh, and you don't have to worry about ice--Emile is the man!

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from Oct. 19, 2008:
Guests from Marietta, Georgia

My wife and I along with another couple had a lovely stay at the Doves Nest. The property is located next to the Grand Case Beach Club and is a nice seven unit building run by a wonderful family who invited us to an amazing dinner one night.

The facilities are modern and the view is amazing. The building is approximately 45 feet up from sea level and the Balcony was great! We stayed during Hurricane Omar and we appreciated the modern structure to ride out the storm in.

The little town of Grand Case was decent even though a few restuarants were closed. The town really is the Gourmet Capital of the Carribean. We had some of the best meals ever.The local beach is small, quiet, and a little rocky. Fortunantly this place is only a short drive from Orient Beach, which was fantastic.

We had a good stay and I would highly recommend the Doves Nest to anyone looking for a nice Condo/Apartment type rental for Grand Case.

Trip Advisor Review of The Doves Nest in Grand Case Trip Advisor Review from May 23, 2008:
Guests from Poughkeepsie, NY

My husband, 3-year-old daughter, and I had a lovely 5-night stay at the Dove's Nest. It is a wonderful retreat. It is located just beyond the bustle of Grand Case's main street on a quiet cul-de-sac. It is very peaceful, and truly the only sounds are the doves, the bananquits at the bird feeder, and the waves. Yet the wonderful restaurants are a pleasant stroll (10-15 min) or very short drive away.

Dove's Nest has direct access to Petit Plage just below, which is the little beach right next to Grand Case beach. Petit Plage is a good beach for a swim away from the crowd, though our young daughter preferred beaches that had fewer rocks. The Dove's Nest also provides a kayak for guests who want to paddle around and explore. They also provide complimentary tickets to the Islet Pinel boat, for a lovely not-to-be-missed day trip.

Dove's Nest is a small, family-run inn. There are only a handful of rooms, all with lovely view and balcony. We split our time in two suites, to accommodate our last-minute booking. Both were on the lower level, and had postcard-worthy views. They consisted of bedroom, living room, kitchen, full bath, and balcony. The rooms were bright, spacious, and spotless. The suites are accessed from the balconies, and the further suite is accessed via the nearer's, so we got to meet our neighbors.

The proprietors, Suzy and Emile, are lovely people and took wonderful care of us. They host a fabulous weekly cookout for friends and guests, and were kind enough to reschedule it so we wouldn't miss it. Their children are wonderful too. When our 3-year old was very cranky one morning, she (and we) were instantly cheered and laughing when a small toy bear suddenly was lowered from the balcony above by their daughter.

If you are looking for a quiet, laid-back and reasonably-priced place to stay in Grand Case, and don't want to be surrounded by swarms of tourists, you couldn't ask for a nicer inn or nicer hosts than at Dove's Nest.


Suzy,

I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond. My children loved The Doves Nest and Alice and I plan to stay with you next year during our visit to St Martin. Please feel free to use us as a reference if you are ever asked to provide one. You and your family were very kind and your apartments are magnificant.

Thank you also for the delicious lobster dinner. That was unexpected and very much appreciated.

Thanks again for making my childrens stay so enjoyable.

Jim Noon
October/November 2007


De : RICK AND DEBBIE
À : suzy larmony
Envoyé le : Lundi, 5 Novembre 2007, 15h31mn 54s
Objet : Re: return trip

We really enjoyed staying with you last week. Our room was very nice, with plenty of linens. The bed  was comfortable. The kitchen is very well stocked, and the closet space was great.It was very nice having dinner with everyone on Thursday night. It was fun to meet the other guests and Emile's family.

I will definitely recommend Doves nest to anyone wanting to stay in Grand Case. Hope to see you next year.

Rick and Debbie
October 2007


Hello Suzy,

Sorry for the delay in responding, but we have been busy since we got back home. Our stay with you and your family was enjoyable as always. We really cannot think of any improvements that we would recommend. Please say hello to Ross for me next time you see him.
Thank you.

Bill Arnoux
July 2007


Dear Suzy and family,

I just want to let you know, that we’ ve arrived Sunday morning 9.00 a.m. European time at Hamburg without any trouble and our mother was very happy to have us home again. The two weeks on the “Friendly Island” are still completely on our mind, so we cannot stop repeating how great every day of our holidays was, especially due to the great home you’ ve given us! Thank you once more so much!

Best greetings to all of you from  

Hans and Doris
May/June 2007


Vern,

I had a great vacation and the Dove's Nest was outstanding. The owners treated us like family and it was the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. Thanks so much for all of your help. If anyone asked I will refer them to you since you treated me very professionally and you cared about my vacation.

Rick Petersen

March 2007

Click to see Main Page of The Doves Nest Return to main page of THE DOVES NEST

Island Info | Things to do | Beaches | Restaurants | Shopping | Car Rental | Airline Info | Sitemap | HOME
Lodging | Villas | Condos-Apartments | Rent-by-Owners | Maps | About us | Terms | Rates | Currency Converter | FAQ

© All rights reserved by DreamBeaches Inc, Anguilla. Last update 04-Jun-2017